AIFF writes to FIFA, calls for investigation over Qatar’s controversial goal in WC qualifier: ‘Grave supervision error’ | Football News.

The controversial goal during the FIFA World Cup qualifier match between India and Qatar has sparked a heated debate in the football community. In the 73rd minute of the game, Qatar was awarded a goal despite the ball clearly going out of play. This decision came after a free-kick taken by Abdullah Alahrak, followed by a header attempt from Yousef Ayem that resulted in a goal, even though Indian captain Gurpreet Singh Sandhu had made a save. The referee’s controversial call to award the goal to Qatar, despite the ball going out of play, left the Indian team and fans outraged.

As a result of this controversial goal, Qatar went on to win the game 2-1, effectively eliminating India from the qualifiers. The All India Football Federation (AIFF) President, Kalyan Chaubey, has taken a strong stance on the incident and has written to FIFA and the AFC to conduct an investigation into the matter. Chaubey emphasized the need for a thorough examination of the supervision error that cost India a spot in the FIFA World Cup qualifiers round 3.

In response to the incident, India coach Igor Stimac and goalkeeper Gurpreet Singh Sandhu criticized the decision, with Stimac calling the goal “irregular” and expressing disappointment over how it affected the team’s chances. Sandhu echoed these sentiments, labeling the result as unfortunate but emphasizing the team’s need to continue fighting for their place in the competition. The AIFF hopes that FIFA and the AFC will take necessary steps to address the injustice and provide potential sporting compensation for the affected team.

Stay tuned for updates on this developing story as the football community awaits the outcome of the investigation.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *