Manu Bhaker stuns with selection for two events; rifle, pistol teams revealed

Manu Bhaker has been chosen as the only shooter to compete in two individual events at the upcoming Paris Olympics, as the National Rifle Association of India (NRAI) revealed a 15-member India rifle and pistol team on Tuesday.

The team consists of eight rifle shooters and seven in the pistol discipline.

The selectors, who met virtually, emphasized the importance of trial results in their decision-making process, which led to the exclusion of world champion Rudrankksh Patil, who had underwhelming scores in his pet 10m air rifle event despite securing the quota.

Currently, all team members, coaches, and support staff are attending a camp in Volmerange-Les-Mines, France, focusing on preparation and training before a two-week break.

The shotgun event squad will be announced after the ISSF World Cup in Lonato, Italy, scheduled from Wednesday until 18 June.

India has secured a total of 21 quotas out of 24 possible, achieving a new record in shooting quotas for the Olympics.

The shooters who clinched the quotas can be replaced based on performance in selection trials conducted by the NRAI.

Kalikesh Narayan Singh Deo, NRAI senior vice president, expressed confidence in the team’s preparation and selection process, wishing them success at the Olympics.

Deo also expressed gratitude to the Government of India, the Sports Ministry, and the Sports Authority of India for their support in the team’s preparations.

The Indian rifle and pistol team for the 2024 Paris Olympics includes a combination of experienced Olympians and promising young talent, with a strong focus on achieving podium finishes.

The NRAI will make adjustments to utilize the spare quota place freed up by Bhaker’s selection in two events.

The Paris Olympics are scheduled to take place from July 26 to August 11.

Indian rifle and pistol team for 2024 Paris Olympics:

Rifle: Sandeep Singh, Arjun Babuta (10m Air Rifle M), Elavenil Valarivan, Ramita (10m Air Rifle W), Sift Kaur Samra, Anjum Moudgil (50m Rifle 3 Positions W), Aishwary Tomar, Swapnil Kusale (50m Rifle 3 Positions M)

Pistol: Sarabjot Singh, Arjun Cheema (10m Air Pistol M), Manu Bhaker, Rhythm Sangwan (10m Air Pistol W), Anish Bhanwal Vijayveer Sidhu (25m RFP M), Manu Bhaker, Esha Singh (25m Pistol W).

(with inputs from PTI)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *